I’ve always had a thing for the bond between brothers. I would say out of all the family relationships, it’s my favorite. Don’t ask me why, I don’t really get it myself. They just capture me and pull me in and there’s no way to escape. Their my indulgence. Second to Chocolate of course.

I also love a good Sci-Fi read, but combine it with a pair of edgy brothers and I’m hooked. That’s why for my first book review on my new blog, I thought I would review a book I read a few years ago that boxed all this together with a nice pretty red bow on top. A book just for me. No not a book, two freaking books. It’s a series, or I hope it turns into one at least.

Chimera (The Korsak Brothers #1) – By Rob Thurman 

What makes us human? What makes us unique? And what makes us kill? Ten years ago, Stefan Korsak’s younger brother was kidnapped. Now a rising figure in the Russian mafia, Stefan has finally found Lukas. But Lukas is now a trained, genetically-altered killer who his creators want back. Saving Lukas may be easier than surviving him.


Basilisk (The Korsak Brothers #2) – By Rob Thurman 

Stefan Korsak and his genetically-altered brother have evaded the Institute for three years. When they learn the new location of the secret lab, they plan to break in and save the remaining children there. But one of the little ones doesn’t want to leave. She wants to kill…



So what was so great about these books? The freaking brothers of course. They rocked. They were dark, edgy, mysterious, sarcastic and their love for each other was beyond words. Need I say more.

Okay, fine, I’ll say more. There was just enough humor to soften the action, and plenty of the protective older brother I have grown to love. The story line was unique and creative. The bone chilling, strangely adultish, children made my skin crawl. I mean who doesn’t find the the little girl at the end of the hall creepy? It left me wanting more. Hear that Rob Thurman? I want more of the Korsak brothers.

Until that happens though, I will have to just read these two books again to get my brother fix. In the meantime, here is my review of the awesome Korsak Brothers.

