Plot Summary

Map-obsessed Thomas spends his days and nights on a virtual tour of the world, believing he must store the details of every town and city in his head. Then one day, he sees something that shouldn’t be there: a woman being murdered behind a window on a New York street.

My Review

This book is a wild ride. There are so many twists and turns my head was spinning, in a good way.

Packed with action, suspense, and unexpected thrills I can’t say enough. Oh and it has brothers of course, my weakness. So let’s break it down now shall we.

Thomas is a schizophrenic who travels the world through a website called World 360. One day he finds more than just pretty buildings and fancy billboards. In the window of one of the tall sky scraper buildings he sees a woman being murdered. He can’t let it go, he has to tell someone, but who?

His brother Ray comes to take care of things after their fathers death and one of those things is his younger brother, Thomas. When Thomas tells Ray about what he has seen, Thomas is hesitant to believe him, mostly due to his brothers mental illness. But when Ray sees the image for himself, he has to admit it does look shady.

The book is masterful in its style of writing and while I do love the brothers, it’s not what made me love this book. I was constantly shocked with unpredictability, even the ending had me dropping my jaw.

Linwood Barclay is a master at switching from first person, Ray POV, to third person. I never felt lost with the constant change but it allowed me to understand Ray and what he felt when dealing with his brother Thomas, yet still I could follow other story lines that at first seemed random until they all fell into perfect place like the pieces of a puzzle.

Read this book if you love a good thriller, unexpected turns, and brothers.

