Plot Summary

Tate’s younger brother Indy is probably the best skateboarder in Spokane. He’s also really smart though he couldn’t care less about school. But when Indy clashes with his father one too many times and drops out of school, it’s up to Tate to win his brother back from the seedier elements of Spokane. Can Tate convince Indy to come home, finish his high school degree, and return to skating Under the bridge with their crew?

Michael Harmon’s fast-paced and highly charged novel captures the enduring bond between brothers and their struggle for survival on the gritty streets of Spokane.



My Review

I didn’t love this book as much as I had hoped to. It’s a rather simple plot. Tate and his brother are good skateboarders and could go pro, but home life isn’t great and drugs and ganges threaten to ruin their future. 

It deals with abandonment and prevailing despite the odds. I wouldn’t say the brothers were the type I love, but they were pretty caring of each other. Tate does stand up for his brother and does everything he can to help him out. 

There was no real surprises that made my jaw drop. Some action and drama but nothing that would make me read this book a second time. Overall, I would say it’s a fast and fun read, but not really capable of wowing it’s reader.

