⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Plot:

When Kate Thompson’s father is killed by the notorious Rose Riders for a mysterious journal that reveals the secret location of a gold mine, the eighteen-year-old disguises herself as a boy and takes to the gritty plains looking for answers and justice. What she finds are devious strangers, dust storms, and a pair of brothers who refuse to quit riding in her shadow. But as Kate gets closer to the secrets about her family, she gets closer to the truth about herself and must decide if there’s room for love in a heart so full of hate. 

     In the spirit of True Grit, the cutthroat days of the Wild West come to life for a new generation. 

My Review:

Vengeance Road is a book purely about revenge. Kate is a tough independent young woman seeking her fathers killers. Along the way she meets two brothers that join her on her mission. Their motive however is all about gold, while she couldn’t care less about anything other than seeing the men that killed her father lying flat out cold on the ground.

There was one part that sums up Kate and her bitterness more accurately than any other quote in the book.

“And this is where we differ, me and the Colton’s. Cause for them, walking out of those mountains matters.”

“But I only want to avenge my fathers blood. It ain’t like I gotta live through it to be successful.”

“Besides, what have I got to go home to anyway? A burned house and no family? I just gotta keep my heart beating long enough to fire my pistol six times. Once for Wayland Rose, and once for each of his remaining crew.”

“So long as they go down, I don’t much care if I go with them.”

Kate is the type of female character I love. Tough, sassy, and determined. Her broken heart is shoved to the back and ignored long enough to do what she needs to do.

I’m not a usual western reader but this one was recommended to me because it has two brothers. Will and Jesse. So I gave it a shot. Now I really liked Jesse but I don’t feel like I really got to know Will all that well, so I’m not sure if I liked him or not. If you’re only looking to read this for the brothers, I’d say don’t bother, the book doesn’t really get too involved with them. It’s focus is on Kate and her plot for vengeance.

However that being said. I still recommend the book as just a good short fun read. The plot is strong and covers typical western themes, gold, shoot outs, hangings, the typical stuff. It has plenty of action, mystery, and several surprises to keep the reader interested. I’m glad I gave it a chance because I really did enjoy the book.

My grade: PG

It has violence but not graphic, very few mild curse words. And the theme is all about vengeance, in case you didn’t gather that from the name.

